Would You Expose Your Dropbox Files to the Masses?

dropboxNot everything you have is meant to be shared. While religious teachings want us to practice generosity, there are just some things in life that are better left unknown; better left unsaid. So if you’d think that one of which is your password to your personal accounts, then you are partly right.

I’m sorry, what? Partly?

It’s not a misprint or something. Actually, you do need to share your password, but evidently, only to the person close to you to prepare for that inevitable day when you breathe your last breath, or become incapacitated. But… you should know how and when to draw the line. Do you have your own Dropbox account? That’s more likely what we are going to talk about today.

This file hosting service—as we all users know—offers cloud storage, file synchronization, and client software. With that being said, it lessens the need for USB data cables since you can just access and/or drop any electronic files in your Dropbox account so long as you are connected to the internet. Well, it’s good to have a repository for all your files, but what files really are you keeping in your Dropbox account? May I know? Or the question is: should I know?

Everything you store in your Dropbox account is definitely none of everyone’s business apart from you. And as I have said, not everything is meant to be shared. Now, if you have an iPhone 5S in your hand then there’s nothing pretty much to be bothered about. Well, except when you are asleep and someone used your finger to access your handheld device. On a lighter note, what if someone accidentally—or perhaps intentionally—got your Dropbox credentials? Would you freak out? Shudder no more, because Two-factor authentication has got you covered.

What is two-factor authentication, you ask? Well, it basically combines your password with an additional security code that can only be used once. This code is then sent to your smartphone that you need to enter upon logging into your Dropbox account to access it. Sounds pretty neat, right? If you don’t want to disclose your Dropbox Files to the public, then might as well set up the two-factor authentication.

 Here’s how:

To secure your Dropbox files, first off, you must log in to your Dropbox account. Then once you are logged in, go the Settings by selecting your name in the upper right corner of the window. Found the Settings already? Great! Now, select the Security tab. Now, look for the Account in the heading and find Two-step verification. Once you’ve found it, you may now enable it. Dropbox will then walk you through the process as you setup two-factor authentication. It will then prompt you to enter your Dropbox password. Once you’ve entered the password, you will be asked whether you want the security code via text messages or use the authenticator app instead. If you are subscribed in an unlimited text messaging plan, then it would be pretty much easy for you to choose receiving security codes via text messages instead. But if not, then you can always have the authenticator app that can provide lots of suggestions, too. Now, if you opted for the text message, you will be prompted to enter your phone number. Key it in, and then just follow the process.

But what if you’ve experienced a mishap, say like lost your phone? You need not worry, since two-factor authentication leaves you a 16-digit emergency backup code that you can use to access your Dropbox account once again.

So when you log into your account the next time, you will now be asked to enter the security code apart from your username and password. They will then send you a message that contains the code. Happy Dropboxing indeed!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s